Southern Tennessee Regional Health System Lawrenceburg Earns ACR Accreditation

February 3, 2020

STRHS Lawrenceburg has been awarded a three-year term of accreditation in mammography as the result of a recent review by the American College of Radiology (ACR). Mammography is a specific type of imaging test that uses a low-dose X-ray system to examine breasts. A mammography exam, called a mammogram, is used to aid in the early detection and diagnosis of breast diseases in women.

The ACR gold seal of accreditation represents the highest level of image quality and patient safety. It is awarded only to facilities meeting ACR Practice Parameters and Technical Standards after a peer-review evaluation by board-certified physicians and medical physicists who are experts in the field. Image quality, personnel qualifications, adequacy of facility equipment, quality control procedures and quality assurance programs are assessed. The findings are reported to the ACR Committee on Accreditation, which subsequently provides the practice with a comprehensive report that can be used for continuous practice improvement.

The ACR, founded in 1924, is a professional medical society dedicated to serving patients and society by empowering radiology professionals to advance the practice, science and professions of radiological care. The College serves more than 37,000 diagnostic/interventional radiologists, radiation oncologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and medical physicists with programs focusing on the practice of medical imaging and radiation oncology and the delivery of comprehensive health care services.

The Mammography Department at STRHS Lawrenceburg is a department that delivers quality health care with compassion and empathy.  With that individualized care comes over 91 years of combined experience in taking care of patients in Lawrence County.  The technologists along with the board certified radiologist are committed to making our communities healthier. 

Pictured L-R: Amanda Woodall RT (R)(M)(CT), Melissa Brackett RT (R)(M), Michelle Jennings RT (R)(M), and Tonya Prater RT (R)(M)